Mickey’s Harley

When I was a kid, I watched this little known movie called “Harley Davidson and the Marlboro Man“. I was drawn to the movie starring two characters named after iconic American products. Mickey Rourke was Harley Davidson and he looked good on that bike. After watching the movie all I wanted was to wear a leathery motorcycle jacket and to walk around being all manly. Mr Miami Vice starred as the Marlboro man but I didn’t seem to have the same compulsion to light up a smoke.

Fast forward a few decades – Mickey has had some cosmetic work done, and so has his bike.  Roland Sands Design has custom built a Harley Sportster for Rourke with super torque, and cafe racer styling.  Gone is the dented chrome tank, replaced by a slick black, white and gold finish and clip on handlebars.  Perhaps Harley Davidson might consider moving with the times and come up with something like this themselves.  There will always be room for icons and classics but it wouldn’t hurt for Harley to get some inspiration from some contemporary sources as well.  Anyway, check out the beautiful RSD Harley below.

Via Silodrome

3 thoughts on “Mickey’s Harley

  1. that is one sick bike. The curve are superb but the colors really set it off for me. I agree with your statement about Harley Davidson possibly finding some type of inspiration to produce a bike for the cafe racer enthusiast. The worships at the house of Harley may differ in their beliefs though.

  2. Yes I agree that the RSD Bike is a great looking machine but…. If I had a choice I would take the Old Harley in a Heart Beat!

    • Yeah, I definitely wouldn’t transform the whole range (love the 48) but imagine if they offered a cafe racer styled V-twin!

Leave a Reply

